Pub tales

Everything has to fit somewhere! Anything else related to Dursley's past.
dursleyglos
Site Admin

Pub tales

Post by dursleyglos »

Who recalls the many pubs that Dursley used to have in days gone by - The Crown in Long Street, the Lamb Inn next to the Priory, the Star and Boot Inn in Silver Street or maybe the Bell & Castle in Parsonage Street. What were they like? Any good tales to tell? If so please do share them here.
Andy - Dursley Glos Web Admin

david william thomas

Re: Pub tales

Post by david william thomas »

Hi Andy I am lucky to say I remember them all and am still here to tell the stories. I was a Mawdsley apprentice from 1961 to 1966, great training and a highly skilled workforce. So sad to see the website of the factory being demolished. Have just emailed a person I knew in Dursley who's name I saw on this website, a DAVE DARBY, so I am hoping he will come back to me. Regards David Thomas.

david william thomas

Post by david william thomas »

Hi Andy. The Lamb Inn on a Friday night was the place to be. A good biker's pub, record on the jukebox, up Long Street, round the market hall, back to the pub before the music stopped. Looking out for P.C. Smith the B-----. Great Days, would love to meet the old gang again. Had a Velocette Viper in those days, great bike. Used to be a girl that came in on a Vincent Comet and she had a Shadow, also lived in Nibley but the name has gone. Still riding myself today but have an old man's bike, a BMW R850R, does the job which is great. Regards David

dursleyglos
Site Admin

Post by dursleyglos »

Hi David
Thanks for the memories. I'm still trying to find a photograph of the Lamb Inn - they seem to be very elusive!
Cheers, Andy

christopherwood

Post by christopherwood »

Hi Andy