Webb/Elliott/Gibbon and Frape Families

Intended for anyone researching their ancestors.
JackC

Webb/Elliott/Gibbon and Frape Families

Post by JackC »

Hi, my name is Jack Cotter and I live in South Wales, I have been doing my family tree for about 7 years, my Grandmother, Millicent May Webb, was born in Dursley in 1893. All her ancestors were born and raised in Dursley throughout the 1800s. The family names are Webb, Elliott, Gibbon and Frape, and they lived in various houses in Snooks Hill, Slade Lane and Union St throughout this time. I would like to come to Dursley to see the area my ancestors lived, and also to do some more research. Can anyone help me by telling me how/where I could find the Parish, Burial, and BMD records for Dursley, also can I just turn up on the day, or do I have to make prior appointments.
Looking forward to your replies,
Jack Cotter

Mercury

Re: Webb/Elliott/Gibbon and Frape Families

Post by Mercury »

Hi Jack

You could go here.. http://www.gloucestershire.gov.uk/archives/map
or have a look through here .... http://www.freebmd.org.uk/cgi/search.pl

I hope this helps :)

DNnorthcott

Post by DNnorthcott »

Hi Jack. A good place to research your family history, is to visit both the Gloucester Family History Society and Gloucestershire Archives.
They are both situated in Clarence Row, Alvin Street, Gloucester. I have visited both, and have found them to be very helpful.
If you visit the Gloucestershire Archives for the first time, you will have to take some form of identification to provide details of current address and signature, they will then issue you with a customer card.
I do not know if you have used microfiches before, but again, they are very useful for finding birth, marriages and deaths, and there is plenty of room to do your research. I might add, there is a small coffee lounge (with a hot drinks machine) where you can consume any food you may bring with you.